© 2019 by Fabian Stamm, Miguel de la Varga and the CGRE Team.

  • White Instagram Icon
logo_CGRE_edited.png

About us

GemPy was created in the context of a PhD project at the Institute for Computational Geoscience and Reservoir Engineering (CGRE) at the RWTH Aachen, Germany, and is further developed by a team of CGRE-researchers and students.

GemPy's core team:

Benevolent Dictator:

  • Miguel de la Varga (PhD Candidate)

varga@aices.rwth-aachen.de

Maintainers:

  • Elisa Heim (MSc)  

        elisa.heim@rwth-aachen.de

Project Supervisor:

  • Prof. Florian Wellmann (PhD)

wellmann@aices.rwth-aachen.de

Contributors:

  • Dr. Simon Virgo

simon.virgo@emr.rwth-aachen.de

  • Alexander Schaaf (PhD Candidate)

a.schaaf@abdn.ac.uk

  • Fabian Stamm (MSc)

fabian.stamm@rwth-aachen.de

  • Marco van Veen (BSc)

marco.vanveen@rwth-aachen.de

logo_CGRE_edited.png

The Institute for Computational Geosciences and Reservoir Engineering, led by Prof. Florian Wellmann (PhD) at the RWTH Aachen University in Germany, brings together geosciences, geophysics, computational sciences, engineering and mathematics in its research.

 

We focus on topics such as the quantification of uncertainties in geological systems, the characterization of subsurface complexities and the ability to predict fluid and transport processes underground. We consistently use the latest methodological developments in mathematics and computer science in the areas of uncertainty quantification and machine learning, and integrate these methods into 3D geological modeling and process simulations, for example to test geothermal and hydrogeological model forecasts.

Furthermore, our methods are applied in the field of raw material and resource epxloration, and in research topics in structural geology and geophysics. We also focus on the development of methods for communicating the underground complexities, as well as on associated uncertainties through virtual and augmented reality.

The profile of the CGRE-group is thus strongly interdisciplinary, covering methodological-technical developments, geoscientific questions and practical applications.

About the CGRE institute